skip navigation

2019 PSHOF Inductees

The Texas Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame

Each year, on the Sunday following the Super Bowl, folks from the region known as the Texas Panhandle (often referred to by the locals as "God's Country) gather to celebrate the area's best and brightest athletes from the previous year.

In 1958, the first selection committee chose to honor Joe Fortenberry of Happy, Texas as the first inductee to the Texas Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame. In February of 1959, the gentleman who served as a member of the 1936 United States olympic team and was the men's basketball MVP of the Berlin games (known as Hitler's olympics), was honored.

This website will be a "work-in-progress" for many years to come. Our goal is to share with our readers the history of athletics in the Texas Panhandle.

Thanks for visiting!

2019 PSHOF Awards

Hall of Fame Honorees

thank you to our 2019 Sponsors

Against The Wall
AMA TechTel
Amarillo Convention & Visitor Council
Amarillo National Bank
Arrowhead Real Estate, LLC
Boxwell Brothers
Brooks Funeral Home
Carl & Keri Spann
Chicken Express
Choice Media
David & Ellen Jones
Dennis & Penny Howard
Donny Anderson
Education Credit Union
First United Bank
Garet von Netzer

Happy State Bank
Heather Houston
Jack Knight Insurance
Jonna Bradley/Russ Pool
Lance Lahnert
Laurel Ayers
Mike & Sharon Hargrove
Ona Lee Johnson
Robert & Mary Dibler
Stanley Schaeffer
Tod Mayfield
United Supermarkets
Wellington State Bank
West Texas A&M University
Whitney Russell Printers


2018 Hall of Fame Ceremony

2017 Hall of Fame Ceremony

Pride of the Plains

Hot off the press in February 2019! The new edition of Pride of the Plains contains the entire history of the Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame from 1958 through 2019.

You can purchase your copy by calling the Kids, Incorporated office at 806-376-5936. The cost is $15 (plus $4 if shipping is required).